Why I Wrote a Children’s Book about Fish Faces!

Why did I write a children’s book about fish faces? Because of my passion for the state of our oceans. I want to compel others to care and make a difference for our future. If I can reach out with the New 2nd Edition of All Fish Faces across generations, maybe people will listen, learn, and take action. I have done a lot of diving since the book published in 2017, and an update seemed in order. Plus, my two and a half-year-old grand-girl, Adaline, became obsessed with All Fish Faces. You can imagine how that warmed my heart! Her love of the book inspired me to continue sharing my love of the ocean with others.

The new 2nd edition of my book, All Fish Faces, is a picture book for kids of all ages. The 2nd edition includes new photos, new facts, and has a new look and format. My passion for writing the book, and publishing a 2nd edition, involves educating kids about ocean ecology and sea life. Like all divers, the state of the ocean is of the utmost importance to me. I hope that introducing kids and their families to our ocean friends will create a generation of excited, enthusiastic, and caring ocean lovers! Who knows? Maybe it will encourage future scientists and conservationists. Seeing and getting to know, and love, our fishy friends, is a great way to help kids want to save the ocean for future generations. All Fish Faces includes ocean and marine life education and tips on how kids (and everyone they know) can help save our ocean friends. 10% of profits will go to the Marine Megafauna Foundation to continue their scientific research to protect our oceans and ocean giants. The foundation was co-founded by my friend, Dr. Andrea Marshall, also known as the “queen of mantas”. I have traveled with her on science expeditions throughout the world, and for more information on her bespoke tours, go to http://www.queenofmantas.com/ray-of-hope-expeditions/.

With Andrea Marshall and Stephanie Venables on a 2020 Ray of Hope Expedition to Raja Ampat, Indonesia

In addition to facts about fish, each tropical reef fish represented in the New 2nd Edition of All Fish Faces shows the fish family in the different oceans of the world. Did you know that each species looks different from place to place? Kids respond with excitement to the many colors and various versions of the fish. I’m so happy to share the following excerpts from the book.

all fish faces, kids book, kids picture book, new release, new kids book
all fish faces, kids book, kids picture book, new release, new kids book
all fish faces, kids book, kids picture book, new release, new kids book
all fish faces, kids book, kids picture book, new release, new kids book
all fish faces, kids book, kids picture book, new release, new kids book

I am a travel writer, blogger, author, and passionate scuba diver. My travel blog, Travels with Tam, is about my many adventures on all seven continents. I encourage everyone, especially kids, to participate in citizen science, learn about the ocean, and help preserve our ocean resources for the future. As a former University Lecturer and College Consultant, I believe that knowledge is power, and education is always a positive force. There’s nothing I love more than showing kids of all ages the fantastic marine life beneath the waves! If I can’t take kids to the ocean, I want to take the ocean to them.

You can pre-order the Ebook at Amazon for $6.99, and the paperback is available at Amazon for $16.99. I am publishing a beautiful hardcover edition that will be available on several outlets through Ingram Distribution. You can also order the books directly from my website at www.tamwarnerminton.com for a discount, including signed versions. You can email me for copies at tam@tamwarnerminton.com. Remember to recommend the book to your stores and libraries!

Reviews have started to come in!

“All Fish Faces is a wonderful tool for kids to explore the magic of reef fishes. The weird and wild facts alongside the frequently hilarious photography make it a joy to read at any age. A must-have for elementary classrooms!” Zack Rago, the “coral nerd” from the documentary Chasing Coral, Sundance Film Festival

“Loads of fun! Fishes make up more than half of all vertebrates, with around 27,000 species found right around the world. ‘All Fish Faces’ is full of Tam’s great photos from the best dive sites on the planet, and beautifully illustrates the diversity — and personality — of these weird and wonderful underwater animals. This is an excellent book for children with an interest in ocean life.” Dr. Simon Pierce, Co-Founder of Marine Megafauna Foundation, Whale Shark Expert, and Editor of Nature Tripper Magazine.

The bottom line to my review is that it is a book you cannot just thumb through. It hooks you from page one. The photography is fantastic and the models are the best. The information about the fish and where they were photographed only adds to the enjoyment. It is certainly a book that one will want a hard copy of and the perfect book for the waiting room of any office. This book Is great for all ages, young and old. Time just slips by as one is drawn into the environment of underwater photography. You certainly are blessed to have upfront, and in your face, so many of God’s beautiful creatures. Janice VanCleave, www.homeschool.scienceprojectideasforkids.com, www.scienceprojectideasforkids.com

Tam Warner Minton and Travels with Tam

Tam is an author, travel writer, underwater photographer and scuba diver. Her blog, Travels with Tam, chronicles her adventures all over the globe.